Skip to content

LAST SEEN LUCY CLARKE BLOG TOUR

July 7, 2017

LAST SEEN BY LUCY CLARKE

PUBLISHED BY HARPER COLLINS

448 PAGES

PAPERBACK AMAZON £5.59

 

Seven years ago, two boys went missing at sea – and only one was brought to shore. 

The Sandbank, a remote stretch of coast dotted with beach huts, was scarred forever. 

Sarah’s son survived, but on the anniversary of the accident, he disappears without trace.
As new secrets begin to surface, The Sandbank hums with tension and unanswered questions. Sarah’s search grows more desperate and she starts to mistrust everyone she knows – and she’s right to. Someone saw everything on that fateful day seven years ago. And they’ll do anything to keep the truth buried. 
An Extract From the Prologue page 1
Salt water burns the back of my throat as I surface, coughing. My legs kick frantically, trying to propel me nearer the boat. The hull is close, whale-sized, solid. I lash out, white fingertips clawing at the sides, but there is nothing to grip and I go under again, mouth open, briny water shooting up my nose.
Suddenly there’s an iron hand around my arm, pulling, dragging me upwards. My kneecap smashes against the side of the boat as I’m hauled on board, a pool of water spilling from me. I blink salt water and tears from my eyes, staring into a face half hidden by a beard. A dark gaze meets mine the man speaks quickly asking questions, draping a blanket over my shoulders.
I say nothing. My whole body shakes beneath the stiff fabric.
 I look down at my feet. They are pressed together, white, bloodless, impossible pale. Beyond them, stacked in the centre of the boat, is a tower of briny , dark cages, where lobsters writhe, tails and claws snapping and clacking. ‘What happened?’ the man asks over and over, his voice sounding distant as if it’s an echo in my head. I don’t answer won’t take my eyes of the lobsters. They are not red as you see them in pictures, but black and shining, huge claws flecked with white. Can they breath out of the sea, I wonder? Aren’t they drowning, right now, here in front of me? I want to throw them back into the water watch them swim down to the sea bed. Their antennae quiver and flit as we motor towards the shallows. There’s a sudden roar of a boat engine close by. My head snaps up in time to see a blur of orange flashing past the lifeboat. For the first time I notice the small crowd gathered on the shoreline. My fingers dig into the blanket as I realise they are looking for us. I am shaking so hard my teeth clatter in my head. I look down at my hands, then slide them beneath my thighs. I know everything is different now. Everything has changed.
MY REVIEW
Seven years ago two boys went missing. Is anybody watching?
Day One 6.15 AM Jacob hasn’t come home from a party. Maybe he has a hangover and staying out with his friends. Or maybe Jacob had to help Caz back to her hut. Was she so drunk that he didn’t want to leave her?  By Day One, Midday Jacob’s mother is in complete panic and has to ask Caz if her son is with her. Caz explained that Jacob didn’t stay with her and that she has no idea where he is, but she did see Jacob at the party, and they both walked back along the beach together.  They stopped by the rocks near his hut to talk for a bit. Then Caz went to her hut. But the question is where exactly has Jacob gone?

 

From → book review

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

