Skip to content

The Punch and Judy Girl Sheila Newberry BLOG TOUR

May 14, 2017

The Punch and Judy Girl by Sheila Newberry

Published by  Zaffre in paperback on 4th May 2017

CAUGHT BETWEEN FAMILY AND DUTY – CAN SHE FOLLOW HER DREAM?

Suffolk, 1925.

After the death of her father, a much loved Punch and Judy man, May Moon packs her bags and moves to the seaside in the hope of continuing his legacy.

Already tasked with looking after her younger sister, May little imagines her summer will grow tougher still. Her long absent mother has finally returned and with an agenda all of her own.

But as May struggles to balance her family’s competing demands and honour her father’s legacy she ‘s surprised to discover her passion for performing grows ever stronger.

As the world around her begins to change, might she finally be able to find a dream of her own?

MY REVIEW

I loved reading this fresh fascinating story. May’s father suffered chronic congestion a condition that plagued him since he was gassed in the trenches during the Great War.

Carmen his wife toured with the dancers to entertain the troops.

May used to help Jim her father refurbished all the puppets.

After her fathers death May packs her bags and moves to the seaside in hope to continue the puppet show.

Fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries will enjoy Sheila Newberry. The Punch and Judy Girl is a heart warming new summer read.

The Punch and Judy Girl is part of Memory Lane, a new online community keeping readers up to date with the very best in saga writing, from both established authors and new exciting names.  Visit http://www.memorylane.club for news, exclusive special content, and for information.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR SHEILA NEWBERRY

Sheila Newberry was born in Suffolk and spent a lot of time there both before and during the war. She wrote her first book before she was ten all sixty pages of it in purple ink.

 

Advertisements

From → book review

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: