Skip to content

THE STRANGER IN MY HOME ADELE PARKS

March 17, 2017

The Stranger in My Home: I Thought She Was My Daughter. I Was Wrong. 

 Paperback £3.85 On Amazon

I THOUGHT SHE WAS MY DAUGHTER. I WAS WRONG.

Alison is lucky and she knows it. She has the life she always craved, including a happy home with Jeff and their brilliant, vivacious teenage daughter, Katherine – the absolute centre of Alison’s world.
 
Then a knock at the door ends life as they know it.
 
Fifteen years ago, someone else took Alison’s baby from the hospital. And now Alison is facing the unthinkable. The daughter she brought home doesn’t belong to her. When you have everything you dreamed of, there is everything to lose.
 
MY REVIEW
 
I bought my own paperback.
The Stranger In My Home One of the best books by Adele Parks that I have read. I think even crime readers would enjoy this particular novel.
Two girls were swapped at birth. A simple mistake. Alison has a lovely home with Jeff and their fourteen year old daughter Katherine .
When a man knocks on her door and tells her that her daughter Katherine is his and that this daughter is Alison’s, she thinks that this man is mad and isn’t telling the truth. Tom drops another point to rock Alison’s world. Tom tells Alison his wife died of cancer and that Katherine will need to be tested for the BRCA1 and BRCA2 as she has the fifty percent chance of inheriting it.
I loved reading how both sides of the family deal with this news about the two girls being swapped at birth, with the two mothers taking home the wrong baby. It was very page-turning reading how and why after fourteen years the reason how the mix up was discovered.
A novel with tears, laughter ,lies and a crime. There are some scenes that get ugly and frightening I’m not saying what, you will have to read it to find out. If you do buy The Stranger In My Home, I hope that you enjoy it as much as what I did

 

From → book review

2 Comments
  1. Sounds interesting, I watched a film with a similar story once, I think it was based on a true story

    • I can well imagine that a film would have been made about a similar case. Adele Park’s book is really good with lots of things going on but won’t say what. I do recommend it

Leave a Reply

