Skip to content

THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE NADINE DORRIES BLOG TOUR

November 28, 2016
childrensll
9781784975050
PUBLISHED December 1st 2016 by Head of Zeus
Twitter@Hoz_books
As heart-warming as it is heartbreaking, this novel is unputdownable.
The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards.
St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south.
The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it.
Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go.
MY REVIEW
I loved reading The Children of Lovely Lane. It is very addictive with characters that you care about. Book 2 is an extension from book 1 but you could read both of them as a stand alone.
Dr Gaskell treated Emily’s mother when she had TB. Emily had no idea that while she was working in St Angelus, Dr Gaskell had been watching her. Emily worked her way up through the nursing ranks of St Angelus. Emily was surprised when she got a letter from Dr Gaskell saying that when he retires he would like to leave knowing that St Angelus would be in good hands and nothing would please him more than to see Emily established in the role of assistant matron. It’s time for a new generation to take care of the patients and everyone who works at St Angelus.
So beautifully written. I recommend Nadine Dorries books to everyone.
Nadine Dorries took some time out of her busy schedule to answer some questions.
As an MP how do you divide your time to write novels?

I have to be quite strict about my diary and make sure no one takes a knife to my writing time. I start at 6 and have the first two hours of the day to myself. That is so important to me and I write all day Sunday and during recess. I couldn’t do it thought when I had children at home. My youngest daughter left for university and I simply used the time I used to spend shopping, cleaning and chauffeuring to write.
What inspired you to write?

Loneliness. Acute empty nest syndrome. I suppose I needed to replace the endless chatter of my youngest and having been told many years ago by a teacher that it was something I could do, I had a go.
How do you start planning and writing your books?

 I think it’s fair to say, my ideas are all rooted in my background. I was fortunate to have been brought up in an Irish Catholic community in Liverpool. It was an experience rich in personality and anecdote.
Where do you sit to write?

I know it’s a bit naughty, but I quite often write in bed in the early morning. I have a snug with a log burner that I sit in in the winter and obviously, my office. The rest is done in the move. I drink endless cups of tea, but the morning is strict. Tea first, followed by the first Nespresso with breakfast and then a second Nespresso. It’s a routine I stick rigidly to.

What do you like writing the most, a trilogy or a standalone?

I don’t mind what I wrote, trilogy or stand alone. I just hope that whatever I wrote is a good story.

Tell us about The Angels of Lovely Lane and The Children of Lovely Lane

The Angels series is about four nurses who embark on their nurses training in Liverpool 1953. I obviously draw extensively on my own background and nursing experience. The girls come from very different backgrounds. As with all my writing, amongst the humour, there is a very serious story. It is also set in St Angelus not long after the establishment of the NHS and the new era of life in post war Britain. I like to think that it is also a social commentary on the times.

What is the last book that you have read?

 I recently read Conclave by Robert Harris and I totally loved it.
What book is by your beside table?

  His Bloody Project, shortlisted for the 2016 Booker, is on the bedside table.
Marmite do you love it or hate it?

 Marmite. I can take it or leave it, seriously!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
From → book review

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

