Skip to content

BEFORE I LET YOU IN JENNY BLACKHURST BLOG TOUR/ Q&A

November 1, 2016

beforeiletyouin_tourbanner

28266463

I am very happy to host the blog tour for Before I let You In as Jenny Blackhurst is one my favourite authors.

Before I Let You In published in paperback 3rd November by Headline

BEFORE I LET YOU IN is the brand new novel from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 Kindle best selling author of HOW I LOST YOU, which Clare Mackintosh called ‘utterly gripping’.
Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen’s THE SISTER and Tracy Buchanan’s NO TURNING BACK, Linda Green and B. A. Paris.
If you don’t know who is walking through the door, how do you know if you should let them in?
Karen is meant to be the one who fixes problems.
It’s her job, as a psychiatrist – and it’s always been her role as a friend.
But Jessica is different. She should be the patient, the one that Karen helps.
But she knows things about Karen. Her friends, her personal life. Things no patient should know.
And Karen is starting to wonder if she should have let her in.
I was lucky to interview Jenny Blackhurst 

How long did it take you to write?

This is tricky to say, I wrote the first draft in 5 months – although my Father in Law passed away in one of those months and I did no writing whatsoever so it was probably more like four. Then I wrote the last chapter, realised the whole thing was wrong and spent the next 6 months pulling the entire thing apart and putting it back together.

Where do you sit comfortably and plan and write your books?

Anywhere I can be stationary for 5 minutes! I’d love to say I have a beautiful office/reading room in the loft where sun streams through a skylight and no one disturbs me while I ‘create’ but unfortunately I have two very small children, a husband who can’t cook and a day job. So at the moment I write on the bus, in Tesco café, in the staffroom at work, pretty much anywhere my boys aren’t.

How Long do you write for before allowing yourself a break for a cup of tea or Coffee?

I try to write in sprints of about half an hour to 45 minutes if I can, but even if I only have 10 minutes to spare I make sure that for those 10 minutes I won’t be disturbed, make tea before I start and go to the loo. Then I’m not allowed to stop until the timer goes off. I can get about 250 words done in 10 minutes.

What did you find the easiest to write How I Lost You or Before I Let You In?

This is a tricky one! How I Lost You was easier in a way because I had no contract, no deadline, I wasn’t worried about what readers thought or if people would like it – I never thought it would see the light of day. With the success of HILY came a lot of pressure and Before I Let You In was much harder because of that pressure, also I was under contract and on a deadline – not finishing wasn’t an option. Having said that I have learned so much about writing since How I Lost You that I found the actual writing, planning and structure much easier the second time around.

If your book Before I Let You In was made into a film who would you like to play psychiatrist Karen and who would play the role of Jessica Hamilton?

Love this. Definitely Suranne Jones for Karen, I love her and had her in mind while I was writing. Jessica is harder, it would need to be someone fragile but ultimately dangerous. Maybe Anne Marie Duff or Leelee Sobieski.

As I am a huge fan of yours can you tell us what you are working on now and what your new novel will be about?

I’m really sorry but I can’t! I’m definitely working on book three but as I haven’t said much about it to my editor or agent yet I honestly can’t reveal too much here. But I promise it’s going to be even darker than the last one.

I am so excited for your next book when can we expect it in the book shops?

*nervous cough. Looks at editor* Next year. Probably. Definitely. Next year J

Thank you Jenny so much for taking the time to answer my questions.

Until next time Suzanne Marsh

 MY REVIEW
Fully twisted all the way. Karen a psychiatrist is happy doing her job fixing patients problems. The only problem for Karen is that she never knows who is walking through her door. But one patient knows more about Karen and her friends that are all like sisters.    Psychiatric Report .    Jessica Hamilton. Age 23. Address Confidential. Medical history No diagnosed history of depression or generalised anxiety disorder. Family background unknown. Medication No medication at present. Referral Self- referral. Reason for visit Tension headaches and irrational cognitive activity. Allocated Psychiatrist Dr Karen Browning. 
Your stomach will twists in knots reading this so much that it is one of those novels you will never forget. I read and reviewed How I Lost You and enjoyed that so much that is why I made sure that I read Before I Let You In. I am now following Jenny Blackhurst and will make sure that I read her next thriller. 

 

From → book review

2 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on MIKE THOMAS.

    • Hi Mark that is so very kind of you to reblogged Before I Let You In. Thank you so much
      Suzanne.

Leave a Reply

