Skip to content

BLOOD SISTER DREDA SAY MITCHELL BLOG TOUR

August 11, 2016

Blood-Sister-Blog-Tour-ImageI

I am very pleased to be part of the blog tour for Blood Sister. I asked Dreda Say Mitchell a few questions.

Where I live in Ashford Kent there is a park name Victoria Park just like in the novel in Blood Sister.

Q & A for Dreda Say Mitchell

What I liked about your novel is that
Where I live we have a park named Victoria Park, everyone nick names it Vicky Park. You have Vicky Park in your book, did you just think that up or did you base it on any where that you know?

I’m wandering if we’re talking about the same place? It’s Victoria Park, which is a real place. It’s so it’s in both Tower Hamlets and Hackney in London’s East End. Everyone called it Vicky Park when I was growing up. It is the most amazing place; I still go there today.

I love the way your characters speak, I felt I could relate to all of the characters.  You have the flair to make your characters talk like how some real people speak. Are you the only one in your family that’s writes?

I grew up in a family of people who never shut up! I think that’s one reason I’ve always been interested in how people talk. The way people talk in the east End is so brilliant – with such swagger, fun, full of put downs, but with a rhythm that’s gorgeous to listen to.

Yep, I’m the only writer. I was a teacher and worked in education for years so I think my family were a bit gobsmacked when I decided to branch into writing novels. I couldn’t have done any of this without my family; they’ve been behind me every step of the way.

 BLOOD SISTER

Book 1 in a series following one family over forty years on an East London estate, BLOOD SISTER is non-stop drama, perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller.
There are two ways out of Essex Lane Estate, better known as The Devil. You make good, or you turn bad. Jen Miller is determined not to make the same mistakes her mother did. She’s waiting to find herself a good job and a decent man. Her younger sister Tiff is running errands for a gangster and looking for any opportunity for fun and profit. But she might just be in over her head…The choices you make and the plans you have don’t always turn out like you expect. Especially if you live on The Devil’s Estate. When their paths cross with the unstoppable Dee – a woman with her own agenda – Jen and Tiff will learn that lesson the hard way. At least they can rely on each other. Can’t they?

MY REVIEW

Love this book. This fabulous gripping thriller is a trilogy following one family over forty years on an East London estate. Blood Sister is non-stop drama. A daughter is going off the rails and breaking her mum’s heart. Tiffany Miller gets a job she’s to pick up a little something for someone at a pub, she’s to tuck it away nice and safe. This isn’t Disney World and there not playing Micky Mouse games here. Blood Sister has characters that you can really relate too and the words that the characters say makes them all so believable. This is with out question a trilogy every one will be gossiping about.
From → book review

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

