Skip to content

THE HOLLOW MEN ROB McCARTHY

February 10, 2016

FullSizeRender

THE HOLLOW MEN ROB McCARTHY

Introducing Dr Harry Kent former Army medic, hospital registrar, police surgeon, drug addict and defender of anyone the world would rather brush aside. His critics say he has a weakness for lost causes.
Usually the police work means minor injuries and mental health assessments. But Solomon Idris’s case is different. Solomon Idris has taken eight people hostage in a chicken takeaway, and is demanding to see a lawyer and a BBC reporter. Harry is sent in to treat the clearly ill teenager…before the siege goes horribly wrong.
When Solomon’s life is put in danger again from the safety of a critical care ward, it becomes clear he knows something people will kill to protect. 

Determined to uncover the secret that drove the boy to such desperate action, Harry soon realises that someone in the medical world, someone he may not even know, has broken the doctor’s commandment do no harm many times over.
And now only he stands in the way of them causing further hurt.
MY REVIEW
 The Hollow men. Some men heal others harm. This police procedural meets medical drama.  This is the start of a major series from medical student and exceptional crime-writing talent. The Hollow Men is perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Val McDermind, and watchers of medical dramas from ER to silent witness. Rob McCarthy is a medical student in his fourth year of study, who started writing crime novel when the neuroantomy textbooks threatened to take his sanity. I am very pleased that he is currently working on two more stories featuring Dr Harry Kent.
27247712
published 25th February 2016 by Mulholland Books
Advertisements

From → book review

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: