Skip to content

THAT GIRL FROM NOWHERE DOROTHY KOOMSON

March 29, 2015

 

9781780893341

THAT GIRL FROM NOWHERE DOROTHY KOOMSON

This is from the bestselling author of The Ice Cream Girls, The Woman He Loved Before and My Best Friend’s Girl, an emotional story about love, identity and the meaning of family.
“Where are you coming from with that accent of yours?’ he asks.
‘Nowhere,’ I reply. ‘I’m from nowhere.’
‘Everyone’s from somewhere,’ he says. ‘Not me,’ I reply silently.
Clemency Smittson was adopted as a baby and the only connection she has to her birth mother is a cardboard box hand-decorated with butterflies. Now an adult, Clem decides to make a drastic life change and move to Brighton, where she was born. Clem has no idea that while there she’ll meet someone who knows all about her butterfly box and what happened to her birth parents.
As the tangled truths about her adoption and childhood start to unravel, a series of shocking events cause Clem to reassess whether the price of having contact with her birth family could be too high to pay…
My Review
I have read quite a few of Dorothy Koomson novels, this is my favourite novel by Dorothy so far.  I found it so hard to stop turning the pages I wanted to know what happened next. I dearly loved Clemency mother. I felt sorry for Clemency mother when she realized her daughter had accidentally found her birth mother. For anyone who loves jewellery making or taking photographs, you will love reading this novel. With high-flying colours I really recommend That Girl From Nowhere. Dorothy experience writing novels comes from working as a journalist with writing some of her books in the evening. She has also worked on the Family Circle magazine in Sydney.
From → book review

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

