Skip to content

IF YOU WERE ME SHEILA O’FLANAGAN

June 18, 2014

9780755378470IF YOU WERE ME SHEILA O’FLANAGAN

Carlotta O’Keefe is happily engaged, and the wedding plans are coming together. She’s clear about her future path, both personally and in her busy career. Maybe Chris doesn’t make her heart race every time she sees him, but you can’t have that feeling for ever. Can you? Then, on a trip to Seville, Carlotta runs into Luke Evans. Luke broke her heart so long ago she’d almost convinced herself she’d forgotten him. Now, he’s not that boy any more, but an attractive and intriguing man. And he can explain everything that happened way back when. Suddenly Carlotta’s not so sure of anything any more. Except that what she decides now will shape the rest of her life.

You’re engaged to a good-looking, successful man who adores you.  You’re on a countdown to the wedding day.  Your family and friends are delighted, and excited.

You’ve long ago stopped thinking about your first love. The boy you never kissed. Even though he stole your heart and disappeared. You’ve grown up since then. You’ve put the past behind you. Love is more than a racing pulse and reckless passion.

But what happens if, even for a moment, that’s what you feel?

Carlotta O’Keefe is about to and soon she’ll be facing the biggest decision of her life.

I give him a hug as I say the word,  and he hugs me in return. The memories come flooding back. I don’t care that I was only a kid. He was my best friend and even though I never really thought about it  until the day before he left, I loved him. We look at each other and I know he’s remembering too.  His eyes are fixed on mine and I can’t break away from him. He kisses me on the cheek. I kiss him on the cheek. He kisses me on the other cheek. I do nothing, just explore his face with my eyes and then he kisses me on the lips..

Published by Headline in July 2014

MY REVIEW

I knew that I was going to enjoy reading the book If You Were Me by Sheila O’Flanagan as soon as I read the first sentence. When I open my eyes and focus on the clock beside the bed, I realise with absolute horror that I should of have been awake an hour ago. For some people waking up an hour late means it sets the day of going from bad to worse.
This is an exciting story about Carlotta O’Keefe who is happily engaged, and with her wedding to her fiance Chris Bennett all paid for. Carlotta is very focused about her future and very busy with her career.
As Carlotta has woken up an hour late in Seville she is now running late, which means she will now miss her train. And missing her train means missing her plane. Missing the plane means that Carlotta will be missing soon to be mother-in-law’s Dorothea’s seventieth birthday party. While Carlotta is in Seville, she runs into Luke Evans who broke her heart over eighteen years ago.
 I highly recommend If You Were Me it has some awesome twists for Sheila O’Flanagan fans. If you have not read a Sheila O’Flanagan novel I recommend that you get this novel and read it.
The story shows how muddled a woman can feel just before getting married when old an old boyfriend enters ones life just before the wedding. 
Women will definitely enjoy reading this with the mother-in law to be with her designer clothes, the best friend chats, and the Spanish music.
And the beauty of this book it is the 22nd book by Sheila O’Flanagan.I could not put this book down. I will definitely be reading more of Sheila’s books in the future. 
From → book review

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

