Skip to content

THE TWINS SASKIA SARGINSON

May 8, 2014

 

 

9780749958695THE TWINS BY SASKIA SARGINSON

ISOLATE AND VIOLA ARE TWINS

THEY ARE IDENTICAL IN EVERY WAY, UNTIL THE UNTHINKABLE TORE THEM APART.

Inseparable as children, they’ve grown up into very different adults. Isolate a successful features writer for a fashion magazine, and  Viola, desperately unhappy and struggling with a life long eating disorder.

What happened all those years ago to set the twins  on such different paths to adulthood? As  women start to unravel the escalating tragedies of a half-remembered summer, terrifying secrets from the pas come rushing back and threaten to overwhelm their adult lives.

A stunning unforgettable debut from a remarkable new talent.

Saskia Sarginson new novel is Without You.

Saskia Sarginson grew up in Suffolk, in the middle of a forest.  She has four children and lives in London. The Twins is her first novel published by piatkus.

My review

I really liked reading The Twins.

Why did I decide to read The Twins by Saskia Sarginson?

Apart from when I was pregnant with my first daughter I wanted twins girls. I love reading stories about twins.

One of the things I loved about the story was  twins names Isolte and Viola.

A little about part of the story.

The twins mother would not tell the twins who their father was. All the twins know is that their mother met him at a festival in California. The twins do suspect that their father is a famous singer Jim Morrison as the picture on their mother album cover is signed by him and she is always playing Jim’s album.

Isolte one of the twins has to visit her twin sister Viola in hospital as she has anorexia.

Viola having anorexia in the story brought back my personal memories.

When I was very young I used to see the singer Lena Zavaroni a lot back stage. We became good friends writing to each other. Fans from Lena Zavaroni’s fan club who I hang out with were amazed at how well Lena and I knew each other and chatted for so long. I was deeply upset when Lena Zavaroni died. I watched Lena Zavaroni get thinner and thinner, but at that such young age all those years ago I knew nothing of the word anorexia like we all know it so well today.

This is now Viola’s third time that she has been admitted to hosptia.l When Isolte visits her twin sister she can see a thin yellow tube threading from her right nostril across her cheek and behind her ear . Liquid calories are sent creeping through the tube straight into Viola’s stomach. Isolte notices Viola wrists, sticking out of her blue pyjama cuffs, that are painful nubs of bone.

Lots happen in The Twins that I do not want to give away.

I hope that all readers who read The Twins by Saskia Sarginson enjoy the story as much as I have.

From → book review

3 Comments
  1. My friend has just lent me this book as a ‘must read’

Leave a Reply

