Skip to content

ELIZABETH IS MISSING EMMA HEALY

April 19, 2014

518hF4x88eL._SY445_ELIZABETH IS MISSING

ADVANCE READING COPY

How do you solve a mystery when you can’t remember the clues.?

Maud is forgetful. She makes a cup of tea and doesn’t remember to drink it. She goes to the shops and forgets why she went. Back home she  finds the place horribly unrecognizable Just like sometimes she thinks her daughter Helen is a stranger.

But there’s one thing Maud is sure of her friend Elizabeth is missing. The note in her pocket tells her so.And no matter who tells her to stop going on about it, to leave it alone, to shut up, Maud will get to the bottom of it.

Because somewhere in Maud’s damaged mind lies the answer to an unsolved seventy-year-old mystery. One everyone has forgotten about. Everyone except Maud.

The thing is I try to be systematic, try to write everything down. Elizabeth is missing and I must do something to find out what happened. But I’m so muddled I can’t be sure about when I last saw her or what I discovered. I’ve phoned and there’s no answer. I haven’t seen her, I think. She hasn’t been here and I haven’t been there. What next? I suppose I should go to the house. Search for clues. And whatever I find I will write it down. I must put pens in my handbag now. The thing is to be systematic. I’ve written that down for.

My review

Maud can’t remember a lot of things, but she knows her friend Elizabeth is missing.

For Maud the only way to remember things is to write them down. It appears that for Maud, Elizabeth is the only friend she has left. It is very sad for Maud as all Maud’s other friends are in homes or in graves. Maud knows the day is thursday and she usually visits her friend Elizabeth on a Thursday, but there is one small problem they don’t seem to have made any arrangements and Elizabeth has not phoned Maud. If Elizabeth had of phoned Maud, she would have written it down what time Maud would be going to see her friend as Maud writes everything down. There are bits of paper all over the house that is called paper memory.  Maud writes down her shopping list, telephone numbers and appointments. So if Elizabeth had phoned Maud she would have a note, but there is a note  tucked into Maud’s sleeve that says No word from Elizabeth. Now Maud has this horrible feeling that something has happened to her friend. Maud remembers that something was on the news about an old woman. Something unpleasant. And now Elizabeth has disappeared. This story of Elizabeth Is Missing holds some wonderful writing. I was totally blown away the original of its narration.  The rollercoaster of Maud forgetting things and having to write them down I thought was rather emotional. Another brilliant novel published by penguin.

From → book review

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

