Skip to content

THE EDGE OF NORMAL CARLA NORTON

 9781447230694
THE EDGE OF NORMAL BY CARLA NORTON
Tell me, Reeve , what are you afraid of?
Reeve St Claire was abducted when she was twelve years old and held in captivity for four years. Now, in her twenties, she has a fragile stability but with the help of her psychiatrist, she has started to build a life of independence. But she will never shake off the terror and memory of the monster she believes is behind bars.
When Tilly Cavanaugh is rescued from a basement having suffered a similar experience, her parents call Reeve to ask for her help in helping their daughter rediscover a normal life. But it is only when two other girls go missing that the police confirm the link and that there is a serial abductor in their midst.
The edge of Normal is a haunting psychological thriller with the impact of modern day Silence of the Lambs. Brilliant. A perfect blend of literary style, psychological insight and edge-of-the-seat thriller.

THE SILENT WIFE A. S. A. HARRISON

9780755399864

THE SILENT WIFE BY A. S. A. HARRISON

How far would a woman go to keep her world safe?

HAVING NOTHING LEFT TO LOSE CHANGES EVERYTHING.

Todd and Jodi have been together for more than twenty years. They are both aware their world is in crisis, though neither is willing to admit it.

Todd is living a duel existence, while Jodi is living in denial. But she also likes to settle scores. When it becomes clear their affluent Chicago lifestyle could disintegrate at any moment. Jodi knows everything is at stake. It’s only know she will discover just how much she’s truly capable of.

Shocking and compelling in equal measure, The Silent Wife is a chilling portrayal of two people in turmoil and the lengths they will go to in order to protect themselves.

This is a novel about the dark side of marriage and relationships.

A. S. A. HARRISON is the author of four non-fiction books. The Silent Wife is her debut novel, and she was working on a new psychological thriller when she died in 2103.

Published by Headline

I AM THE SECRET WAG

9780552171137

I AM THE SECRET WAG

The true story of my life as an England footballer’s wife.

Money, cars, homes, holidays, parties and shoes you’ve ever dreamed of. The life of a footballer’s wife or girlfriend must be glamorous and exciting as her other half, right? But behind closed doors of the WAG’s world, there are all pressures as well as pleasures of success. So what is it really like?

I Am The Secret WAG is the true story of life as a footballer’s wife. Married to England international, she goes beyond the hype to tell it like it is, revealing not just the glamorous lifestyle but the reality of existence under the celebrity spotlight and day-to-day worries of a mother and a wife.

It is about fashion and fame, sex and scandal, but, like the best-selling Secret Footballer books, is also an honest appraisal of life on and off the field to play which will change your preconceptions about footballers and their partners. It is sassy, outspoken, funny and above all, written from the heart. Meet The Secret Wag.

The Secret Wag is published 19th June 2014

THE SECRET WIFE LINDA KAVANAGH

9781848453050

THE SECRET WIFE BY LINDA KAVANAGH

The happiest day of her life

Laura Thornton has dreamed of this day. Saying her vows to the perfect man, in a beautiful dress. It was supposed to be perfect. Forever.

The beginning of a nightmare

Behind closed doors, the man of her dreams reveals a dark nature so brutal that Laura has no choice but to leave and, when threats are made to her life, all fingers point to her husband. But what Laura thinks knows is a lie. A dark secret from her past is reaching out, determined to destroy her. A past she soon discovers isn’t all that it seemed.

Skilfully builds the suspense to a crescendo.

NOW THAT I FOUND YOU CIARA GERAGHTY

9781444725858

NOW THAT I FOUND YOU BY CIARA GERAGHTY

Vinnie is a taxi driver and single dad. Since his wife left home, he’s been struggling to cope with his seven-year-old son who has wet the bed the bed every night for over a year, and his teenage daughter who keeps getting into trouble at school.

Ellen is recovering from a trauma of her own. She has been left mentally and physically scarred after a car accident, and is terrified to get behind the wheel of a car again. Every week she is driven to her physio appointment by Vinnie, a man she knows little about, but who is about to change her life forever.

Forty-two year old Vinnie knows a lot of things. He knows new books and school shoes are expensive. He knows his teenage daughter keeps getting into trouble and he knows his seven-year-old  has had nightmares every night for over a year.

What Vinnie doesn’t know I whether his wife is coming back , or if he’ll ever get better at single fatherhood.

Ellen knows what happened in the accident was all her fault. She knows she’s too scared to get behind the wheel of a car ever again and she knows that some scars are harder to hide than others.

What Ellen doesn’t know is how to move on. And she doesn’t know anything about Vinnie, the taxi driver who drives her to physiotherapy every week.

And neither of them know they’re going to change the others life forever

My favourite author does it again in this novel superbly written, perceptive, poignant novel. Oh, I envy you the read of this. Treat yourself to a brilliant book!

Smile, laugh and cry with Ciara Geraghty’s beautiful and moving new novel.

The life-affirming new novel from Irish best seller Ciara Geraghty which is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Marian Keys.

 

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL ASHLEY WEAVER

9780749017316

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL BY ASHLEY WEAVER

Amory Ames is a wealthy young woman who regrets her marriage to her notoriously charming playboy husband, Milo. Looking for a change, she accepts a request for help from her former fiance, Gil Trent, not knowing that she’ll soon become embroiled in a murder investigation that will test not only her friendship with Gil, but will upset the status quo with her husband.

AN ELEGANT CHRISTIE-ESQUE 1930s ROMP. A thrilling and stylish historical crime debut from a talented new voice.

Amory Ames and her rakish husband, Milo, might just be the new Nick and Nora Charles

ALICE AND THE FLY JAMES RICE

photo

ALICE AND THE FLY BY JAMES RICE

Miss Hayes has a new theory. She thinks my condition’s caused by some traumatic incident from my past I keep deep-rooted in my mind. As soon as I come clean I’ll flood out all these fears and it’ll all be ok and I won’t be scared of Them anymore. The truth is, I can’t think of any single traumatic childhood incident to tell her. I mean, there are plenty of bad memories Herb’s death, or the time I bit my whole tongue, or Finners Island, out on the boat with Sarah but none of these are what caused the phobia. I’ve always had it.
It’s Them. I’m just scared of Them.

It’s that simple.
This book is about phobias and obsessions, isolation and dark corners. It’s about families, friendship, and carefully preserved secrets. But above everything else it’s about love. Finding love in any forms and nurturing it. ALICE AND THE FLY is a spellbinding debut novel about a boy with severe arachnophobia by an exceptional new young British talent.

James Rice tells us why he wrote Alice and the Fly.
The book is, at least partly, autobiographical. I was chronically shy as a child.  On one occasion I had Tango poured over my head.  I had all the hallmarks of the weird kid in class. But in my mind it wasn’t weird to want to isolate myself to want to distance myself from school, from that whole experience. To have a keep your head down and get through it attitude. I found it weirder that people would want to participate in school life. I wanted to write something from the point of view from a schoolboy, that felt real – real to the experience I had at school. And I wanted it to be a story about love and hope.
 My review
In my view it doesn’t cost anything to be friendly people.
Alice The Fly broke my heart. Gregory Hall didn’t have any friends at school. Bless Greg’s heart he suffered from not being able to say his S’s properly.All the wicked boys in his class torment him calling him all sorts of horrible names like psycho and nuts. The boys don’t like anything about him the way he walks, the way Greg watches, his scratching and his mumbling and they don’t like his staring at the girls.
What upset me even more is that his mother doesn’t give Greg any love or attention. And his sister doesn’t take any notice of her own brother.

Alice The Fly comes out 15th January 2105. I can see Alice The Fly by James Rice being at the top of the reading list in shops with being one of the most talked about books by readers in 2105.
Published 15th January 2015 by Hodder and Stoughton
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers