Skip to content

THE SECRET WIFE LINDA KAVANAGH

9781848453050

THE SECRET WIFE BY LINDA KAVANAGH

The happiest day of her life

Laura Thornton has dreamed of this day. Saying her vows to the perfect man, in a beautiful dress. It was supposed to be perfect. Forever.

The beginning of a nightmare

Behind closed doors, the man of her dreams reveals a dark nature so brutal that Laura has no choice but to leave and, when threats are made to her life, all fingers point to her husband. But what Laura thinks knows is a lie. A dark secret from her past is reaching out, determined to destroy her. A past she soon discovers isn’t all that it seemed.

Skilfully builds the suspense to a crescendo.

NOW THAT I FOUND YOU CIARA GERAGHTY

9781444725858

NOW THAT I FOUND YOU BY CIARA GERAGHTY

Vinnie is a taxi driver and single dad. Since his wife left home, he’s been struggling to cope with his seven-year-old son who has wet the bed the bed every night for over a year, and his teenage daughter who keeps getting into trouble at school.

Ellen is recovering from a trauma of her own. She has been left mentally and physically scarred after a car accident, and is terrified to get behind the wheel of a car again. Every week she is driven to her physio appointment by Vinnie, a man she knows little about, but who is about to change her life forever.

Forty-two year old Vinnie knows a lot of things. He knows new books and school shoes are expensive. He knows his teenage daughter keeps getting into trouble and he knows his seven-year-old  has had nightmares every night for over a year.

What Vinnie doesn’t know I whether his wife is coming back , or if he’ll ever get better at single fatherhood.

Ellen knows what happened in the accident was all her fault. She knows she’s too scared to get behind the wheel of a car ever again and she knows that some scars are harder to hide than others.

What Ellen doesn’t know is how to move on. And she doesn’t know anything about Vinnie, the taxi driver who drives her to physiotherapy every week.

And neither of them know they’re going to change the others life forever

My favourite author does it again in this novel superbly written, perceptive, poignant novel. Oh, I envy you the read of this. Treat yourself to a brilliant book!

Smile, laugh and cry with Ciara Geraghty’s beautiful and moving new novel.

The life-affirming new novel from Irish best seller Ciara Geraghty which is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Marian Keys.

 

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL ASHLEY WEAVER

9780749017316

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL BY ASHLEY WEAVER

Amory Ames is a wealthy young woman who regrets her marriage to her notoriously charming playboy husband, Milo. Looking for a change, she accepts a request for help from her former fiance, Gil Trent, not knowing that she’ll soon become embroiled in a murder investigation that will test not only her friendship with Gil, but will upset the status quo with her husband.

AN ELEGANT CHRISTIE-ESQUE 1930s ROMP. A thrilling and stylish historical crime debut from a talented new voice.

Amory Ames and her rakish husband, Milo, might just be the new Nick and Nora Charles

ALICE AND THE FLY JAMES RICE

photo

ALICE AND THE FLY BY JAMES RICE

Miss Hayes has a new theory. She thinks my condition’s caused by some traumatic incident from my past I keep deep-rooted in my mind. As soon as I come clean I’ll flood out all these fears and it’ll all be ok and I won’t be scared of Them anymore. The truth is, I can’t think of any single traumatic childhood incident to tell her. I mean, there are plenty of bad memories Herb’s death, or the time I bit my whole tongue, or Finners Island, out on the boat with Sarah but none of these are what caused the phobia. I’ve always had it.
It’s Them. I’m just scared of Them.

It’s that simple.
This book is about phobias and obsessions, isolation and dark corners. It’s about families, friendship, and carefully preserved secrets. But above everything else it’s about love. Finding love in any forms and nurturing it. ALICE AND THE FLY is a spellbinding debut novel about a boy with severe arachnophobia by an exceptional new young British talent.

James Rice tells us why he wrote Alice and the Fly.
The book is, at least partly, autobiographical. I was chronically shy as a child.  On one occasion I had Tango poured over my head.  I had all the hallmarks of the weird kid in class. But in my mind it wasn’t weird to want to isolate myself to want to distance myself from school, from that whole experience. To have a keep your head down and get through it attitude. I found it weirder that people would want to participate in school life. I wanted to write something from the point of view from a schoolboy, that felt real – real to the experience I had at school. And I wanted it to be a story about love and hope.
 My review
In my view it doesn’t cost anything to be friendly people.
Alice The Fly broke my heart. Gregory Hall didn’t have any friends at school. Bless Greg’s heart he suffered from not being able to say his S’s properly.All the wicked boys in his class torment him calling him all sorts of horrible names like psycho and nuts. The boys don’t like anything about him the way he walks, the way Greg watches, his scratching and his mumbling and they don’t like his staring at the girls.
What upset me even more is that his mother doesn’t give Greg any love or attention. And his sister doesn’t take any notice of her own brother.

Alice The Fly comes out 15th January 2105. I can see Alice The Fly by James Rice being at the top of the reading list in shops with being one of the most talked about books by readers in 2105.
Published 15th January 2015 by Hodder and Stoughton

THE SOUL OF DISCRETION SUSAN HILL

9780701187644

The Soul of Discretion by Susan Hill

THE NEW SIMON SERRAILER CASE

DC Simon Serrailler is faced with his worst crimes yet, and Lafferton is left reeling.

The cathedral town of Lafferton seems idyllic, but  in many  ways it is just like any other place. As part of the same rapidly changing world, it shares the same hopes and fears, and the same kinds of crime, as any number of towns up and down the land.

When one day DC Simon Serrailler is called in by Lafferton’s new Chief Constable, Kieron Bright, he is met by four plainclothes officers. He is asked to take the lead role in a complex, potentially dangerous undercover operation and must leave town immediately, without telling anyone not even his girlfriend Rachel, who has only just moved in with him.

Meanwhile, Simon’s sister Cat is facing difficult choice at work that will test her dedication to the NHS. But an urgent call about her and Simon’s father, Richard, soon presents her with a far greater challenge much closer to home.

To complete his special op, Simon must inhabit the mind of the worst kind of criminal. As the op unfolds, Lafferton is dragged into the sort of case every town dreads. And Simon faces the fight of his life.

Eagerly awaited by all aficionado of crime fiction. Not all great novelists can write crime fiction but when one like Susan Hill does the results is stunning. Susan Hill’s Serrailler novels are addictive and never allows us forget that horrible crimes happen in the midst of ordinary life.

THE GIRL WITH A CLOCK FOR A HEART PETER SWANSON

9780571301911

FIRST LOVE IS DEADLY

What if your college sweetheart, the girl of your dreams, suddenly disappeared?

Twenty years later she’s back, she’s in trouble and she says you are the only one who can help her.

This psychological thriller that has you on the edge of your seat is very hard not to read in one sitting. Takes your breath away with a plot that twists like a corkscrew. A twisty sexy, electric thrill ride.

True as it is this novel is very hard not to read in one sitting.
Liana, was George’s college sweetheart suddenly she disappeared. Twenty years later Liana is back in Georges life. She is in big trouble and wants George to help her. How can he say no to Liana?. Twenty years ago when Liana disappeared from Georges life she was the girlfriend to a dying wife’s husband Gerald Maclean, who was a wealthy furniture business man. Liana is on the run from Gerald as she stole a lot of his money.But what does Liana now want to know George for after twenty years? And why does she need George’s help?.

 

 

DEAR DAUGHTER BY ELIZABETH LITTLE

9781846558160

DEAR DAUGHTER BY ELIZABETH LITTLE

As soon as they processed my release Noah and I hit the ground running. A change of clothes. A wig. An  inconspicuous sedan. We double backed once, twice, then drove south when we were really headed east. In San Francisco we had a girl who looked like me board a plane to Hawaii. Oh, I thought I was so clever. But you probably know that ‘m not.

Ten years ago, in a trail that transfixed America, Janie was convicted of murdering her mother. Now she’s been released on a technicality she’s determined to unravel the mystery of her mother’s last words, words that send her to a tiny town in the very back beyond. But with the whole of America’s media on her tail, convinced she’s literally got away with murder, she has to do everything she can to throw her pursuers off the scent. She knows she really didn’t like her mother. Could she have killed her?

JANIE JENKINS OWES HER MOTHER EVERYTHING. HER LOOKS. HER MONEY. HER MURDER CONVICTION

A really gusty, clever, energetic read, often unexpected, always entertaining. I loved Janie Jenkins sassy voice and Elizabeth little’s too. In the world of crime novels, Dear Daughter is a breath of fresh air. Needle-sharp writing that brings characters and atmosphere leaping off the page, and a vivid, original plot full of satisfying twists. 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers